Human Rights Defenders for Free Elections

Праваабарончы цэнтр «Вясна» беларускі хельсінкскі камітэт


Babrujsk: officials elected to election commission under the guise of ‘public representatives’

The website of the Babrujsk city executive committee has published a full list of members of the two district election commissions in the city. The vast number of TEC members are people who have worked in the commissions during the previous election campaigns.

Occupation of commission members traditionally is not disclosed (at the meeting, they were not voiced, either). This is probably because it is officials who are shamefully hidden under the guise of nominees from the citizens that took seats in the commission. For example, in the Lieninski district TEC there is a representative of the Belarusian Peace Foundation Valiantsina Afanasenka. She works in the administration of the Lieninski district and was a member and secretary of the TEC in the last presidential election. Sviatlana Babko, who was nominated by collecting signatures, works in the same administration.

The commission of the Pieršamajsk district has the same ‘experienced and competent’ members. Unknown citizens nominated Alena Belavusava, an employee of the ideology, culture and youth department of the city executive committee. In the same way, Sviatlana Bialiak, head of the city public library, became a member of the election commission. Citizens also nominated Liliya Zhuk, head of the Babrujsk state electric college.

The Republican Party of Labor and Justice nominated Vasil Zubar, who is also Deputy General Director of the Babrujsk tannery factory. Another commission member, Vadzim Kulikou, is Deputy Director for ideology and marketing of the plant of concrete products. He was nominated to the commission by the regional branch of the Belarusian trade union of construction and building materials industry.

"Human Rights Defenders for Free Elections"